banner
Out & About

Out & About

Museum of Life & Science. Credit: Durham Convention & Visitors Bureau
Map Marker  Find News Near Me

Map
THURSDAY FORECAST
48°/ 28°

North Carolina Museum of Life and Science

Categories: Attractions
433 W. Murray Ave., Durham, NC 27704
Hours: Mon.-Sat. 10AM-5PM; Sun. noon-5PM
(919) 220-5429
Visit Their Website

Rating: 1  2  3  4  5  
Avg User Rating: 4 out of 5
Total Votes: 8
to add your rating


 The Museum of Life and Science is one of North Carolina’s top attractions. Situated on 84-acres, our interactive science park includes a science center, a butterfly conservatory which is one of the largest in the world and beautifully-landscaped outdoor exhibits which are safe havens for rescued black bears, lemurs, and endangered red wolves.

The Museum's Dinosaur Trail takes visitors on a journey through the Late Cretaceous period. Other attractions include a Farmyard, Ellerbe Creek Railway, Contraptions – a hands-on exhibit for older children and adults, a sailboat pond, The Lab in Investigate Health!, Play to Learn – an exhibit for children under six, more than 60 species of live animals and so much more.

Is this your business? Update your free WRAL Out & About business profile by emailing us your logo or a picture of your business now.

Upcoming Events

The Macro/Micro Project: Paintings by Orr Ambrose
Wed, Nov 26: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Nov 27: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Nov 28: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Nov 29: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Nov 30: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Dec 2: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Dec 3: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Dec 4: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Dec 5: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Dec 6: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Dec 7: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Dec 9: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Dec 10: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Dec 11: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Dec 12: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Dec 13: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Dec 14: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Dec 16: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Dec 17: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Dec 18: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Dec 19: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Dec 20: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Dec 21: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Dec 23: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Dec 24: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Dec 25: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Dec 26: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Dec 27: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Dec 28: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Dec 30: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Dec 31: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Jan 1, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Jan 2, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Jan 3, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Jan 4, 2015: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Jan 6, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Jan 7, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Jan 8, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Jan 9, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Jan 10, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Jan 11, 2015: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Jan 13, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Jan 14, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Jan 15, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Jan 16, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Jan 17, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Jan 18, 2015: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Jan 20, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Jan 21, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Jan 22, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Jan 23, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Jan 24, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sun, Jan 25, 2015: 12 p.m. till 5 p.m.
Tue, Jan 27, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Wed, Jan 28, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Thu, Jan 29, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Fri, Jan 30, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.
Sat, Jan 31, 2015: 10 a.m. till 5 p.m.

Santa Train 2014
Wed, Dec 3:

WRAL & Yelp Reviews

user image
Quinn Y. Aug 27, 2014
rating
yelp logo
This place is amazing! If you have kids, this is the place to go! It's like a zoo, playground, pool (with the mist area), theme park, science center,... (more)
user image
Princess R. Aug 21, 2014
rating
yelp logo
Today 8/21/2014 at 2:45pm I came to the museum with my family who still lived in Durham. I used to live in Durham but moved away. On Thursday it is free for... (more)
user image
Natacha S. Jul 31, 2014
rating
yelp logo
I happen to check out the museum with a friend who goes there from time to time with a baby that she nannies. The museum is awesome for kids, and even... (more)

Please to add a review.